• OU's Kyler Murray named 1 of 3 finalists for Heisman

    By: Jeff Kolb



    • Oklahoma redshirt-junior quarterback Kyler Murray was named one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy.
    • Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins are also finalists
    • The three QBs will be in New York for Saturday night's trophy presentation
    • Murray is the third Oklahoma player to be named a Heisman finalist in the last three seasons, along with Dede Westbrook (2016) and Baker Mayfield (2016, 2017). Mayfield won the 2017 Heisman.
    • According to Bovada, Murray (1/2) is now the betting favorite to win the Heisman over Tagovailoa (3/2) and Haskins (60/1).
    • Oklahoma's athletic department has waged a vigorous campaign supporting Kyler to win over Tua, creating this website: https://www.kylerknows.com/
    • Murray, who is also a finalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award and Manning Award, leads the nation in total yards (school-record 4,945), points responsible for (306), passing efficiency rating (205.7; FBS record is 198.9), yards per pass attempt (11.9; FBS record is 11.1) and yards per completion (16.8, tied). He also ranks second in completion percentage (.709; first among Power Five players).


      The Allen, Texas, product has completed 241 of 340 passes this year for 4,053 yards and 40 touchdowns to seven interceptions. He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores. He needs 108 rushing yards to become just the second player in FBS history to throw for at least 4,000 and run for at least 1,000 in a season (Clemson's DeShaun Watson did it in 2015 with 4,109 passing and 1,105 rushing in 15 games).


      Murray has thrown at least two touchdown passes in 12 of 13 games this season, and has thrown at least three TD passes in 10 contests. He had his school- and Big 12-record streak of eight games with at least three TD passes snapped in a win against Oklahoma State on Nov. 10.


      Oklahoma's Heisman Trophy winners were running backs Billy Vessels in 1952, Steve Owens in 1969 and Billy Sims in 1978, and White in 2003, Bradford in 2008 and Mayfield last year. Only two schools (Notre Dame and Ohio State with seven each) have produced more Heisman Trophy winners than the Sooners. The next most is three (by six schools).


      No school has ever produced back-to-back Heisman Trophy winners who were quarterbacks.

    Next Up: