• Kyler Murray becomes 7th Sooner to win Heisman

    By: Jeff Kolb


    NEW YORK - Kyler Murray has won the Heisman trophy, becoming OU's seventh Heisman winner, beating fellow finalists Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama) and Dwayne Haskins (Ohio State) on Saturday. Murray gives the Sooners back-to-back years with Heisman Trophy winning quarterbacks (Baker Mayfield, 2017), something no school has done before.


    It's the latest award of the week for Murray, who on Thursday was named the AP Player of the Year and won the Davey O’Brien Award given to the nation’s top quarterback.


    Murray leads the nation in total yards (school-record 4,945), points responsible for (306), passing efficiency rating (205.7; FBS record is 198.9), yards per pass attempt (11.9; FBS record is 11.1) and yards per completion (16.8; tied). He also ranks second in completion percentage (.709; first among Power Five players).


    The Allen, Texas, product has completed 241 of 340 passes this year for 4,053 yards and 40 touchdowns against seven interceptions. He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores. He needs 108 rushing yards to become just the second player in FBS history to throw for at least 4,000 and run for at least 1,000 in a season (Clemson's DeShaun Watson did it in 2015 with 4,109 passing and 1,105 rushing in 15 games).


    Murray has thrown at least two touchdown passes in 12 of 13 games this season, and has thrown at least three TD passes in 10 contests. He had his school- and Big 12-record streak of eight games with at least three TD passes snapped in a win against Oklahoma State on Nov. 10.


    No. 4-ranked OU, which behind Murray leads the nation in points per game (49.5), yards per game (577.9) and yards per play (8.7; FBS record is 8.6), will make its 52nd bowl appearance when it takes on No. 1 Alabama in the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on Dec. 29 at 7 p.m. CT. The game will be televised by ESPN.

    Next Up: