Bob Stoops named to College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021

Bob Stoops named to College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021
FILE - Former Oklahoma head coach Bob Stoops

NORMAN, Okla. — Former University of Oklahoma head football coach Bob Stoops is an inductee for the College Football Hall of Fame, officials announced Monday.

Stoops falls on the Hall of Fame ballot in his first year of eligibility and joins a class including Tony Romo, Carson Palmer and Rudy Hubbard.

Content Continues Below

Stoops, an Ohio native, coached for 18 seasons at Oklahoma before retiring after the 2016 season.

“As a son of an all-time, lifelong high school coach, no one appreciates the game of football and the coaching profession more than I do, and so I am truly grateful for and humbled by this honor,” Stoops said in a statement.

“Football is the ultimate team game with so many pieces that must be put together, and nobody can have success by themself. It takes everybody contributing. Certainly, that was the case for me. From my family to my support staff to my assistant coaches to our administration and to our great fans, I had incredible support at Oklahoma for each of my 18 years and am thankful to everyone who played a role in all our achievements.”

He finished his career with a 190-48 record, finishing every individual season with a winning record and bowl appearance.

Stoops had a .500 record in bowl games, including a win in the 2000 Orange Bowl that capped off the program’s National Championship that season.

Since his retirement, Stoops has stayed around the football program. Earlier this season, he made some appearances on the Sooners’ practice field to help out his successor Lincoln Riley as the team dealt with a short staff due to COVID-19.

Stoops also served one season as head coach of the XFL’s Dallas Renegades before the league shut down in 2020.

He’ll become OU’s sixth head coach in the College Hall of Fame, joining Bennie Owen (coached at OU from 1905-26), Lawrence “Biff” Jones (1935-36), Bud Wilkinson (1947-63), Jim Tatum (1946) and Barry Switzer (1973-88).