TPS approves 2016-2017 budget, announces leadership changes

TULSA, Okla. — Quick facts:

  • TPS approved their budget Monday.
  • This comes after statewide budget trouble throughout the past year.

Tulsa Public Schools approved their budget for the upcoming school year Monday.

The $545 million budget is set to stay within their $574 million projected revenue.

The budget allots for the following:

  • General Fund: $294.8 million
  • Building Fund: $19 million
  • Child Nutrition: $29.1 million
  • Capital Improvements: $71.5 million
  • Debt Service: $130.2 million

Officials said additional revenue failures similar to those seen in the past year in the state of Oklahoma are possible.

They said an income tax cut would further reduce state income levels.

They said 47 percent of all of their general fund revenue comes from state revenue.

The state reallocated money after revenue surpassed projections. That infusion of cash allowed the district to restore 42 of their 118 cut teaching positions.

Those positions will return by the start of the school year in August.

Additionally, the district announced some leadership changes.

Three senior leadership positions were approved as advisors for Superintendent Deborah Gist. The board also approved candidate recommendations for several central office positions related to the recent restructuring.

Paula Shannon will become Deputy Superintendent, Stephen Fedore Hoch will serve as the district's first Chief Analytics Officer and Jana Burk will act as General Counsel for the district.

Other district leadership changes effective July 1 are as follows:

·         Catharine Bashaw, Workers Compensation Attorney;

·         Brandie Berry, Executive Director of Educator Effectiveness and Professional Learning;

·         Estella Bitson, Instructional Leadership Director;

·         Pam Butler, Director of Health and Wellness;

·         Joseph Fraier, Design and Innovation Specialist;

·         Ebony Johnson, Senior Director of Student Engagement;

·         Jamie Lomax, Director of Organizational Learning and Equity;

·         Mark Modrcin, Director of Charter and Partnership Schools;

·         Coy Nesbitt, Director of Talent Initiatives;

·         Christopher Payne, Director of Communications and Public Relations;

·         Jim Provenzano, Senior Data Strategist;

·         Oliver Wallace, Director of Student and Family Advocacy; and

·         Tenna Whitsel, Director of Family and Community Engagement.

Monday, the Board of Education also approved principal recommendations for seven schools:

·         Audrey Doctor, Thoreau Demonstration Academy;

·         Ramona Gestland, Skelly Elementary;

·         Jason Gilley, Central Junior High and High School;

·         Sheila Riley, Clinton Middle School;

·         Courtney Selking, Eugene Field Elementary;

·         Karesha Solomon, Hawthorne Elementary;

·         Dixie Speer, Edison Preparatory School; and

·         Kristy Tatum, Marshall Elementary.


5 things to know: The big stories on FOX23 News