• Edmondson, Stitt face off for governor in November


    Quick Facts:

    • Oklahoma will elect a new governor in 2018.
    • Fifteen candidates filed for the highest office in the state.
    • Democrat Drew Edmondson won his nomination outright in the June primary.
    • Tulsa businessman Kevin Stitt won the GOP nomination in an August runoff.
    • Oklahoma saw a record number of people register to run in these elections.

    Oklahomans will elect a new governor in November 2018. 

    The field started full with fifteen candidates in three parties filing for the office. The June primary narrowed it down further and the Aug. 28 runoff will reveal the final candidates for the general election.

    The Oklahoma governor is elected to a four-year term, the office is also term limited to two consecutive terms. 



    Kevin Stitt 


    Drew Edmondson 

    Edmondson also released a statement on the night of the August runoff:


    Chris Powell 

    Who is endorsing who?

    Kevin Stitt received an endorsement from President Donald Trump the same week he won the Republican runoff.

    Stitt also won the endorsement of former U.S. Senator Tom Coburn.

    The OKAgFund, a grassroots political action committee from the Oklahoma Farm Bureau has announced its support of Stitt in the election.

    See more of Stitt's endorsements here.

    Drew Edmondson announced the endorsement of former Oklahoma governor, U.S. senator and University of Oklahoma president David Boren.

    The Oklahoma Public Employee's Association announced Sept. 12 that it will endorse Edmondson for governor.

    “It is clear to state employees that Drew Edmondson is the only candidate with a plan to improve state services, education and health care in our cities and rural communities across Oklahoma,” said OPEA Executive Director Sterling Zearley. “Mr. Edmondson understands the challenges facing state agencies and their employees because of the lack of state leadership. He will work to improve our state.”

    We will collect endorsements here as they are announced.

    Who won the primary election?

    Former Oklahoma Attorney General Drew Edmondson won the Democratic Primary for governor.

    Tulsa businessman Kevin Stitt and former Oklahoma CIty Mayor Mick Cornett advanced to the Aug. 28 runoff for the Republican nomination. Stitt defeated Cornett in the runoff.

    Chris Powell won the Libertarian runoff to becomes to party's nominee.

    When do I vote?


    The general election will take place Nov. 6. Voters must be registered by Oct. 12.


    Want more election coverage? Visit FOX23's You Decide 2018 page 

    Next Up: