• Mayfield runs away with AP Player of the Year; Love 2nd

    By: RALPH D. RUSSO, AP College Football Writer

    NEW YORK (AP) - Baker Mayfield is The Associated Press college football Player of the Year, becoming the fourth Oklahoma quarterback to win the award since it was established in 1998.

    Mayfield, the Heisman Trophy favorite, easily outpointed Stanford running back Bryce Love, who came in second. Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, the other finalist and last season's Heisman winner, was third. Mayfield received 51 first-place votes from the 56 AP college football poll voters who submitted player of the year ballots, and a total of 157 points.

    Love (83 points) and Jackson (39 points) each received two first-place votes and Penn State running Saquon Barkley received a first-place vote and came in fourth.

    Mayfield, Love and Jackson are also the finalists for the Heisman, which will be handed out Saturday night in New York.

    Next Up:

  • Headline Goes Here

    Mayfield runs away with AP Player of the Year; Love 2nd

  • Headline Goes Here

    Big 12 football players poised to break out in the fall

  • Headline Goes Here

    Riley's 1st spring as Sooners coach after Big 12 title, CFP

  • Headline Goes Here

    AP source: Florida's Callaway fails drug test at NFL combine

  • Headline Goes Here

    Nebraska takes 'baby steps' in 1st spring under Scott Frost