TULSA, Okla. — Starting July 1, new laws will impact Oklahoma drivers.
Two major changes include license plates staying with drivers, even when a car is sold, and keeping vehicle registration in the car always.
Jerri Mirecki, at the West Tulsa Tag Agency, said there will likely be a rush at tag agencies starting next week by people who cannot find their vehicle registration.
The weekend prior to the changes taken place, many tag agencies will also undergo a software upgrade mandated by the Oklahoma Tax Commission. This could lead to wait times as staff works through the new system.
Drivers who bought a car from an individual will be able to drive without a plate for up to five days if the new owner has the title in their name or a notarized bill of sale, according to Mirecki.
- 11th American tourist dies after falling ill in Dominican Republic
- Sign up for free FOX23 Newsletters
- Mother charged after being accused of playing 'chicken,' running over 3-year-old son
- FOLLOW FOX23 on Facebook for updates in your news feed
- Missing 8-year-old boy with autism found dead in swimming pool, police say
- DOWNLOAD the FOX23 News app for breaking alerts sent to your phone
© 2020 Cox Media Group