You Decide 2020: Kevin Hern wins re-election to Oklahoma’s 1st Congressional District

WASHINGTON — Rep. Kevin Hern won re-election representing Oklahoma’s first congressional district on Tuesday.

District 1 includes all of Tulsa County, Wagoner County, Washington County, and parts of Rogers and Creek counties.

Find election results here.

Voters chose Republican Rep. Kevin Hern to represent District 1 in 2018.

Hern was facing Democratic candidate Kojo Asamoa-Caesar and independent candidate Evelyn Rogers in this general election.

See Rep. Kevin Hern’s sponsored or cosponsored legislation in Congress here

From 2011 to 2015, Hern was chairman of the finance committee of the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority. He’s also been a McDonald’s franchisee and served on the McDonald’s National Leadership Team.

Democratic candidate Kojo Asamoa-Caesar is a first-generation American with roots in Ghana.

Asamoa-Caesar was born in Virginia and moved to Tulsa to become a teacher. He’s since served as the founding principal of Greenwood Leadership Academy and interim executive director for 36 Degrees North.

Independent candidate Evelyn Rogers ran as a Republican in 2016 for the District 1 seat but lost to Jim Bridenstine in the party’s primary.

Rogers has worked as a librarian at Tulsa Community College.

Find Election Day results on the FOX23 You Decide 2020 page.