OU, Texas request invitation to join SEC

UPDATE: SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey has issued a statement:

“The University of Oklahoma and the University of Texas today submitted formal requests for invitations to become members of the Southeastern Conference in 2025.

While the SEC has not proactively sought new members, we will pursue significant change when there is a clear consensus among our members that such actions will further enrich the experiences of our student-athletes and lead to greater academic and athletic achievement across our campuses. The Presidents and Chancellors of the SEC, in their capacity as the conference’s Chief Executive Officers, will consider these requests in the near future. Per the Bylaws of the SEC, a vote of at least three-fourths of the SEC’s 14 members is required to extend an invitation for membership.”

The University of Oklahoma and The University of Texas at Austin have formally requested an invitation to the Southeastern Conference.

The announcement comes just 24 hours after both schools announced plans to let their current media contracts with the Big 12 Conference expire in 2025.

Both schools requested to join the conference on July 1, 2025.