Broken Arrow mayor loses longtime city council seat in election

BROKEN ARROW, Okla. — Broken Arrow Mayor Craig Thurmond still has time in the city’s top office, but no longer holds a seat on its council.

Thurmond lost Tuesday’s election to Lisa Ford, giving up his city council seat he’s held since 2001.

Ford won Thurmond’s Ward 2 position with 59.06 percent of the vote.

Broken Arrow city council members serve for four-year terms with elections happening every two years.

Find more election results here.