11 states to sue Obama administration over transgender bathroom rights

FOX23 Breaking News

Quick Facts:

  • Eleven states sue the Obama administration over new federal guidance for transgender students in public schools
  • Oklahoma is included as well as Alabama, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Tennessee, Maine, Louisiana, Utah and Georgia.
  • FOX23 will update as we learn more

Oklahoma is one of 11 states suing the Obama administration over transgendered bathroom rules.

The challenge follows a federal directive to U.S. schools this month to let transgender students use the bathrooms and locker rooms that match their gender identity.

Conservative states vowed defiance since the Justice Department handed down the guidance. U.S. Attorney General Loretta Lynch has said "there is no room in our schools for discrimination."

The lawsuit accuses the Obama administration of "running roughshod over commonsense policies" that protect children. It asks a judge to declare the directive unlawful.