'Permitless Carry' law in Oklahoma: What you need to know

'Permitless Carry' law in Oklahoma: What you need to know

TULSA, Okla. — The "Permitless Carry" or "Constitutional Carry" took effect in Oklahoma on November 1

This new law allows people to carry firearms without a permit or training ahead of time.

Governor Kevin Stitt signed the bill into law on February 27.

Content Continues Below

"Oklahomans are strong supporters of the Second Amendment, and they made their voice known as I traveled across all 77 counties last year," said Stitt after the bill signing.

"I would like to thank Representative Jon Echols and Senator Kim David for championing this piece of legislation and for finding balance for both private property owners and our Second Amendment rights."

Qualifications

Despite the change in qualifications to carry a gun, the new law will only apply to those at least 21 years old or those 18 years old and in the military.

A news release from Governor Stitt's office listed the following provisions for the "Permitless Carry" House Bill 2597:

  • Under the bill, you cannot carry a concealed or unconcealed handgun in public and private schools K-college, public or private sports arenas, gambling facilities, government buildings, and private businesses, unless allowed by owner.
  • The bill maintains current law that you must pass a background check to purchase a gun.
  • The bill maintains current law that you must disclose guns in your possession when requested by law enforcement officer.
  • The bill maintains current law that those convicted with a felony cannot own or buy a gun.
  • Gun owners can still obtain a license in Oklahoma, with reciprocity recognized in multiple states across the nation.

Challengers

Since the bill's inception and eventual signing, "Permitless Carry" has faced several challenges and petitions.

Representative Jason Lowe created a petition to put the upcoming law to a vote in August. Despite tens of thousands of signatures, it was not enough to move the petition forward by the August 29 deadline.

"This fight is far from over," Lowe said at a news conference.

"We believe this law is dangerous."

Lowe filed a motion to lower courts before taking his cause to the Oklahoma State Supreme Court.

An emergency injunction was filed October 31 but it was denied.

Trending Stories

Trending Video