Wind Advisory expires at 6:00 PM on 4/16, issued at 10:31 AM Avant, OK | Barnsdall, OK | Bartlesville, OK | Big Cabin, OK

Toews wins Selke

Story Comments Share

Updated: 6/14/2013 5:11 pm Published: 6/14/2013 4:39 pm

Chicago, IL (Sports Network) - Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks took home the Frank J. Selke trophy as the league's best defensive forward on Friday.

Toews headed a Chicago team that led the league in goals against, and finished second in goals scored. The 25-year-old Winnipeg native, who was chosen third overall in the 2006 draft, posted 23 goals and 25 assists along with a plus-28 rating in 47 games this season, his sixth in the NHL.

Toews joins Dirk Graham (1991) and Troy Murray (1986) as the only Blackhawks to win the Selke.

Also nominated for the award were Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins, who won last season, and Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings, a three-time winner.

Story Comments Share

FOX23 Sports
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.