Wind Advisory expires at 6:00 PM on 4/16, issued at 10:31 AM Avant, OK | Barnsdall, OK | Bartlesville, OK | Big Cabin, OK

Grizzlies' Gasol named NBA's best defender

Story Comments Share

Updated: 4/24/2013 11:33 am Published: 4/24/2013 11:33 am

New York, NY (Sports Network) - Memphis Grizzlies center Marc Gasol has been named the 2012-13 NBA Defensive Player of the Year.

Gasol, the first Grizzlies player to win the award, earned 30 first-place votes and a total of 212 points from a nationwide panel of 121 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.

Miami's LeBron James, who has never won this honor, finished second in the balloting with 149 points and 18 first-place votes. Serge Ibaka of Oklahoma City was third in the voting with 122 points after finishing second last year.

Tyson Chandler of the Knicks captured last year's honor and finished 13th this year.

Gasol averaged 1.7 blocks and 1.0 steals to go along with 14.1 points, 7.8 rebounds and 4.0 assists in 80 games this season. He was one of only six players in the NBA to average at least 1.5 blocks and 1.0 steals, leading a Grizzlies team that allowed a league-low 88.7 points per game during the regular season.

Story Comments Share

FOX23 Sports
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.