Child sex offenders could spend more time in prison for sex abuse.
Wednesday, Oklahoma State Representative Mike Sanders, R-Kingfisher, introduced HB 2968 that would increase the minimum prison sentence from 25 years to 50 years for those who are convicted of sexually abusing a child under the age of 12.
FOX23’s Abbie Alford takes a deeper look into protecting your kids from predators.
On the Oklahoma Department of Corrections website you can search for child crimes and the offenders.
We found one woman in Tulsa who was convicted of Cause, Procure, Or Permit-Injury/Sex Abuse in 2005. She was sentenced to six years in prison but served two years. The mother will have to register for life as a sex offender.
Now one lawmaker and police say parents who allow sex abuse and those who commit the sex act should be locked up longer.
"'Yeah he is abusing my kid but I had free rent and groceries is what it amounts to so I am going to prostitute my kid out so that we have a place to live," says The Tulsa Police Exploitation Sgt. John Adams. "You didn't protect your child as your parent. That is your biggest responsibility as a parent is to protect your child and make sure that your child is safe and provided for not to use your child for rent."
Currently in Oklahoma, the minimum sentence is 25 years to life in prison but in a lifetime of pain for abused child.
So Representative Sanders says if abusers or those who allow it to happen don’t get a life sentence they need to spend at least 50 years in prison.
"He's not going to the total deep end and saying castration or death he's actually. This is livable punishment," says Adams. "It will make sure that they don't get out in 20 year, they don't get out in 15. The 85 percent of 50 years they will at least be in there for thirty, thirty-five, forty years before they are able to touch parole."
This law would also require sex offenders to register with a valid and map-able address.
P.O. Boxes would be prohibited and valid zip code matching the city the offender registers in will be required.
Tulsa Police already require a map-able address.
If there is not a map-able address sex offenders would need to register with local law enforcement every seven days.
Representative Sanders says he also wants to shorten the time it takes to register once released from prison from 45 days to 10 days.
Sanders plans to meet with the Oklahoma Department of Corrections on Friday.
Tulsa Police have added a delinquent sex offender list to its website.